Helicopter

So, we finally did it. We booked a trip to Iceland. Seems everyone else we know has already been there, and I’m worried that by the time we get there (June), the locals will be absolutely sick of tourists (if they’re not already) and the pristine land will be seeing the effects of us all tramping around. But rest assured, as semi-seasoned backcountry campers and hikers, we care deeply about not leaving more than a bootprint behind…and we’re going to stay out of the Highlands so the locals don’t have to come rescue us.

And apart from being respectful of the land and such, I feel like I should’ve come from Iceland in another life, with three of my top bands/musicians coming from there (all hail Björk, Sigur Rós, and Mammút!), Old Norse (i.e. pre-Icelandic) being one of my favorite grad courses, Vikings being one of my favorite shows, and Halldór Laxness’ Independent People being my current novel on the go. One thing I do not have though is any clothing from Iceland. According to a recent article on NJAL, Iceland has quite the emerging fashion scene, which really shouldn’t surprise me, given the above examples of culture and art. But up to now I’ve been relatively in the dark, apart from the odd Icelandic label that’s popped up on kOs here and there over the last 6 years (most of which are now defunct). So, I was quite happy to discover a new-to-me Icelandic label, Helicopter, from designer Helga Lilja. The above wool trench in particular stopped me in my tracks, and it’s an absolute stunner. The print says “Við hittumst alltaf aftur” over and over, Icelandic for “We always meet again”, the name of the A/W 15/16 collection. If I get money for Christmas (and it’s still available), I may just have to order one for myself. Or at least get the bodysuit in the same print.

There are also some great basics from the A/W 15/16 and S/S 15 collections, one of which I’m sure to lay my hands on when we reach the co-op Kiosk shop in Reykjavik. The merino/alpaca blend unisex sweaters and sweater dresses in particular have caught my eye, in part because of all of Laxness’ literary sheep, and also because the idea behind the pattern is so so good:

“…constructed from the lights from the cardinal buoys. Guiding the sailors to safety on sea. Constant lights come from the North, 6 short then 1 long from the South. 9 short from the west and then 3 short from the East.”

Guide me on home.

BAHNS02small

(Photos via Kiosk and here)

