Gary Graham, S/S 16

gary-graham-007-2000 gary-graham-021-2000 gary-graham-009-2000 gary-graham-010-2000One of the downsides of being an adult with an adult job and paying attention to adult things with adult feelings and needing to take adult vacations to get away from said adult-ness is that I seem to have lost the ability to find the time to fit real blog writing and research into my day. I have a list about as long as my arm of things I want to post about (dancewear from dusturbance and Queen Michelle! relaunch of Alexandra Groover’s grey label, now moon-themed! re-emergence of Wolfgang Jarnach! 3D-printed Chromat jewelry! my intense love of Beastie Boys’ Paul’s Boutique! a much deserved 2nd post on gaffer&fluf! new stuff from Ursa Minor! the best piece of written work I’ve ever read, from the sorely missed Anthony Martignetti! long-awaited new Jamie Woon!), but, adult-ness. Nevertheless, the fall fashion week always snaps me out of whatever is happening at least a wee bit, as it reminds me of that hallowed first time I went to NY. So it is fitting that Gary Graham and his S/S 16 collection serve as the anchor to get me back here. Mr. Graham always provides just the right amount of romantic-ness that I didn’t know I needed, cloaked in the guise of Anne Shirley’s imagination (oh Gilbert…). And while dresses that serve as tablecloths and shading devices may not be the best tools to get me to the end of this work week, there’s always something a bit more practical in a Gary Graham collection (see below) so as to make his aesthetic seem completely tangible to me whilst sitting at my desk, fiddling with commas and British vs. American spelling. And for that, I am grateful.

gary-graham-013-2000(Photos via Vogue.com (RIP Style.com))

