Jantine Van Peski

wires-2_lightgreygrey_1wires-8_greyo-matic20wires-11_blackbeigewires-10_beigeredo-matic2wires-9_blacko-matic6

Okay, I have 23 minutes max to get this post out before I have to disappear into the marking chamber for roughly five hours straight (only to reappear to go into the library…chamber…). So, if you come back and read this post tomorrow, you may notice some editorial changes since I probably won’t have time to construct a perfect(-ish) post today. And so. If you’ve been around kOs long enough, you know that macramé has gotten the spotlight a couple of times, particularly with the genius designs of Eleanor Amoroso. Now, thanks to Eleanor and the increasing frequency of this Belgium-based designer popping up on my radar, I’d like to present to you the macramé stylings of Jantine Van Peski. If she’s popped up on your radar too, it might be because her 2011 graduate ‘Wires 10.0’ collection (above) received much attention, including the ASOVF award from Diane Pernet, and was featured/available on MUUSE (I distinctly remember seeing that spiral jacket, in particular).

jantinevanpeski_louise2012_6_72dpijantinevanpeski_louise2012_4_72dpijantinevanpeski_louise2012_72dpi

Jantine has continued her 3D yarn sculptures with her current ‘Louise’ collection (above), and has also created a couple more accessible spin-off pieces (below, collectively titled ‘Louise I’), available, once again, on MUUSE. I, for one, would prefer the more elaborate and dramatic looks, but I do love a good raglan-sleeve jacket. And really, I’d wear whatever Jantine created. Sigh.

h1bh4 h1h5

(Photos via NJAL and MUUSE)

