The Blue Bird

34 02_0 03_0 30 04_0 17 25 15 16 32 05 18

Whilst waiting for something from NYFW to tickle my fancy, let’s follow up yesterday’s post with a look at another bright Ukrainian talent, Vladymyr Podolyan, and his eponymous label, PODOLYAN (found via NJAL). Podolyan’s F/W 13/14 collection (which I can fairly safely say is my favorite of the year, and is available here) takes inspiration for its palette and aesthetic from a philosophical fairy play called “The Blue Bird” by Maurice Maeterlinck. I must admit that I had never heard of Mr. (or rather, Count) Maeterlinck, but after reading that he is from one of my favorite cities ever (Ghent, Belgium), that he received the Nobel Prize (in 1911), that his works were banned by the Catholic Church, and that he had a great interest in Classical Greek plays, I know what my next bit of fun reading will be. And, if “The Blue Bird” is any bit as fantastic as these perfect layered and flowy looks by Podolyan (including those on the men, below), I know I won’t be disappointed. I’d even consider giving the ballet a second chance if New York were to consider reviving the ballet based on the play at the Met (where it was first performed in 1919). My heart is already on that side of the continent anyway, as my favorite New Yorker is celebrating her second birthday today. Dear Alice, may you have the happiest of birthdays, and may you find your blue bird.

f5af7ef189f0e97b1c2d2d4a6aa017ec2474df95348e798b15cd5e7e23e44abe

(Lookbook photos via NJAL, runway photos from Ukrainian Fashion Week via here)

