Living Latin

OMNIA MEA 1 OMNIA MEA str OMNIA MEA 4 OMNIA MEA pl OMNIA MEA 2 OMNIA MEA stra

If you were following my MUUSE x Vogue Talents posts, you’ve already seen these designs from Sofija Urumović. And, since she made it into the top 50 for the semi-final round (with 915 votes!), we can only hope that we’ll see much more of her work soon! You may remember that I was drawn to Sofija’s work not only through the photos, but through the collection’s title, ‘Omnia Mea’. With the announcement that my BA program (in classical languages) is being cut (the only one at my university that allows a student to study Latin in-depth and have it count for their degree requirements), any time I see Latin used in the real world it makes me want to yell ‘See! We need Latin!!!’. But since that won’t change anything, I’ll just look forward to finding those little instances that prove the ridiculous choices being made around here wrong. So Sofija, thank you. And thank you for letting me know about your website so I can ogle these pieces again from different angles. I want all of the above. Sigh. Good luck in the semi-finals, Sofija!

P.S. Apparently I’ve had a Twitter account for years, and will now try out tweeting my posts and other goodies, starting with this post. Interested? Follow/tweet at me @buffyleigh.

